Summary
Harbourline Ceramics is a fictional maker of handmade stoneware tableware based in Portland, Oregon. It sells direct to consumers through its own online shop and wholesale to around 40 independent homeware shops. The business, the people and every record in this sample are invented to show how a Loupe dossier reads.
The listing asks $2.1m on revenue of $1.2m and seller's discretionary earnings (SDE) of $480k. Two one-off contracts sit inside those figures. Without them, trailing twelve month revenue is $0.94m and SDE is about $308k, which puts the asking price at 6.8 times normalised SDE against a median of 3.2 times for similar listings.
Overall view
A well-reviewed brand with loyal repeat customers, priced on a year that will not repeat. The price is hard to support on normalised earnings, and the brand's domain and trademark sit with one of the owners personally. Worth pursuing only at a price closer to Loupe's range, with the intellectual property transferred at completion and a handover period covering glaze recipes and wholesale accounts.
Listed revenue $1.2m. Normalised TTM revenue $0.94m after removing two one-off contracts.High riskRead about this red flag
- Source
- Seller's profit and loss statements, January 2024 to July 2026 (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Company re-registered in 2023 under a new name.Medium risk
- Source
- Oregon Secretary of State business registry (fictional record)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
The numbers that matter
| Figure | As listed | Normalised | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Asking price | $2,100,000 | Not stated | Stock included at cost, about $85k |
Revenue, trailing twelve months | $1,200,000 | $940,000 | Two one-off contracts removed |
SDE, trailing twelve months | $480,000 | $308,000 | See Financials for the adjustments |
Multiple of SDE | 4.38x | 6.82x | Asking price over SDE |
Business
Harbourline makes plates, bowls, mugs and serving pieces in a leased studio with two gas kilns. Pieces are thrown and glazed by a team of five potters, packed on site and shipped by parcel carrier. Direct online sales make up 71% of normalised revenue and wholesale the other 29%.
The founders, a married couple, started the business in 2016 as Coastal Kiln Goods LLC. One founder runs production and holds the glaze recipes, which are not written down in full. The other runs the online shop, marketing and the wholesale accounts, and works about 50 hours a week. Neither role is covered by anyone else.
Can it be run remotely
Not fully. Production, quality control and the kiln schedule need someone on site every working day. A buyer who does not want to live near Portland would need a studio manager in place before completion.
Five potters employed, plus the two owners.
- Source
- Seller's payroll summary for July 2026 (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Direct online sales are 71% of normalised revenue; wholesale is 29%.
- Source
- Seller's profit and loss statements, January 2024 to July 2026 (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Glaze recipes are held by one owner and only partly documented.Medium riskRead about this red flag
- Source
- Call with the sellers, 4 September 2026 (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- As listed
Financials
As listed and normalised, trailing twelve months to July 2026
| Figure | As listed | Normalised | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue | $1,200,000 | $940,000 | Hotel group order $180k and corporate gifting order $80k removed |
Gross margin | 58% | 54% | One-off contracts carried a higher margin |
SDE | $480,000 | $308,000 | Contract margin and one add-back removed |
Implied multiple of SDE | 4.38x | 6.82x | Asking price $2.1m |
Median asking multiple of similar listings | 3.2x | Not stated | 14 similar ecommerce listings in the Loupe database. Asking prices, not sale prices. |
Listed revenue $1.2m, SDE $480k and asking price $2.1m.
- Source
- Listing as published on a fictional marketplace
- Checked
- Confidence
- As listed
Median asking multiple of 3.2 times SDE across 14 similar ecommerce listings.
- Source
- Loupe listings database (fictional figures for this sample)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Estimated
Normalising revenue
Two contracts account for $260k of trailing twelve month revenue: a $180k tableware order for a hotel group's new sites and an $80k corporate gifting order. Neither customer has ordered before or since, and the sellers confirmed neither is expected to repeat.
Add-backs to test
Owner salaries of $165k are added back in full. That is standard for SDE, but a buyer who does not work in the business will need a studio manager at about $75k.
A spouse's salary of $45k is added back, but the spouse works full time in packing and fulfilment. The role would need replacing at about $42k, so we have not accepted this add-back.
An $8k legal fee for the 2023 re-registration is a genuine one-off and is accepted.
Trend
Excluding the one-off contracts, revenue grew 6% in 2024 and 2% in 2025, and is 3% lower in the first seven months of 2026 than a year earlier. Online orders are flat; the decline is in wholesale.
Two one-off contracts totalling $260k are included in trailing twelve month revenue.High riskRead about this red flag
- Source
- Seller's profit and loss statements, January 2024 to July 2026 (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
A $45k salary for a family member working full time is treated as an add-back.Medium riskRead about this red flag
- Source
- Seller's profit and loss statements, January 2024 to July 2026 (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Revenue excluding one-off contracts fell 3% year on year in January to July 2026.
- Source
- Seller's profit and loss statements, January 2024 to July 2026 (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Valuation and structure
Informational only
- Low
- $900k
- Likely
- $1.05m
- High
- $1.25m
Loupe likely value $1.15m, within the range. Asking price $2.1m, above the range.
- Analyst range
- $900k to $1.25mLikely $1.05m
- Loupe indicative range
- $950k to $1.35mLikely $1.15m, on SDE
- Asking price
- $2.1m
- Similar listings
- 3.2x median14 listings. Asking prices, not sale prices.
Loupe's range uses normalised SDE of $308k. Our own range is a little lower because of the owner dependence in production and the falling wholesale revenue. Stock at cost of about $85k would be added at completion.
Loupe indicative range $0.95m to $1.35m on normalised SDE, likely $1.15m.
- Source
- Loupe valuation engine 1.0.0, benchmark set version 1 (fictional inputs)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Estimated
This section is informational only. It is not investment advice and it is not an offer to buy or sell.
Structures worth exploring
An earn-out tied to wholesale revenue over two years, which shares the risk of the wholesale decline with the sellers.
Vendor finance for part of the price, which keeps the production founder engaged through the handover.
An SBA 7(a) loan: the business has three years of tax returns and positive cash flow, but lenders will size the loan on normalised earnings, not the listed figures.
Transfer of the domain name and the trademark application into the company before completion, as a condition of the deal.
Verification
Company registry: Needs review
Harbourline Ceramics LLC is active and in good standing. It was formed in 2023 as the successor to Coastal Kiln Goods LLC, formed in 2016, which was administratively dissolved the same year.
Company re-registered in 2023 under a new name.Medium risk
- Source
- Oregon Secretary of State business registry (fictional record)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
The earlier company, Coastal Kiln Goods LLC, was dissolved in 2023 after missing two annual reports.
- Source
- Oregon Secretary of State business registry (fictional record)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Directors and owners: Clear
Two members hold the LLC equally: the two founders named by the sellers. No other members or managers are registered.
Two registered members, holding equal shares.
- Source
- Oregon Secretary of State business registry (fictional record)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Sanctions screening: Clear
No matches for the company, its former name or either member on the OFAC SDN list, the UK Sanctions List or the UN consolidated list.
No sanctions matches for the company, its former name or either member.
- Source
- OFAC, UK Sanctions List and UN consolidated list, as imported by Loupe
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Domain history: Needs review
The shop's domain was first registered in 2016 and is paid up to 2029. The registrar account belongs to one of the founders personally, not the company.
The shop's domain is registered to a founder personally, not to the company.Medium riskRead about this red flag
- Source
- Registrar account screenshot supplied by the sellers (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Traffic, search and reputation
Web traffic is estimated at 38,000 visits a month, 22% lower than a year ago.
About 61% of visits come from organic search, mostly for the brand name and product terms.
The shop shows an average rating of 4.7 from 1,240 reviews; we found no sign of incentivised reviews.
The brand's Instagram account has about 48,000 followers and posts weekly.
Trademarks, litigation and insolvency
A trademark application for HARBOURLINE was filed in 2024 in the name of one founder, not the company. It is still pending.
No federal court cases were found. One small claims case from 2022 over a damaged wholesale delivery was dismissed.
No bankruptcy filings were found for the company, its former name or either member.
Estimated 38,000 monthly visits, down 22% year on year.Medium riskRead about this red flag
- Source
- Web traffic estimate from a third-party panel (fictional figures)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Estimated
Average rating 4.7 from 1,240 shop reviews.
- Source
- The shop's review widget (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- As listed
Trademark application for HARBOURLINE filed in 2024 in a founder's personal name, still pending.Medium riskRead about this red flag
- Source
- USPTO trademark search (fictional record)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
No federal court cases; one small claims case in 2022, dismissed.
- Source
- PACER and county court index searches (fictional records)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Market and competition
Handmade tableware sits at the premium end of a large, slow-growing homeware market. Buyers pay for craft and for a look that mass producers find hard to copy, but they are also sensitive to shipping costs and breakage.
Harbourline's closest competitors are other small studios selling online, several of which have grown through social media over the last three years. Larger homeware brands now sell handmade-look ranges made overseas at about half Harbourline's prices, which is the most likely cause of the wholesale decline: independent shops are stocking the cheaper ranges alongside, or instead of, studio pottery.
The direct online business looks more resilient. Repeat customers placed 44% of online orders in the last twelve months, and the average order value rose from $118 to $126.
Repeat customers placed 44% of online orders in the twelve months to July 2026.
- Source
- Shop platform order export supplied by the sellers (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Average online order value rose from $118 to $126 year on year.
- Source
- Shop platform order export supplied by the sellers (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Risks and red flags
One-off contracts inflate the listed figures
High risk$260k of the $1.2m listed revenue came from two contracts that will not repeat. On normalised figures the asking price is 6.8 times SDE, more than twice the median for similar listings.
Production depends on one founder
Medium riskOne founder holds the glaze recipes and runs the kiln schedule. The recipes are only partly written down, and no potter has run a firing unsupervised.
Domain and trademark are held personally
Medium riskThe shop's domain and the pending HARBOURLINE trademark application are in a founder's own name. Both must be assigned to the company, or directly to the buyer, before completion.
An add-back covers a role that needs replacing
Medium riskA $45k salary for a family member who works full time in fulfilment is added back. A buyer would need to hire for that role, so SDE is overstated by about $42k.
Falling traffic and reliance on search
Medium riskEstimated traffic is 22% lower than a year ago and 61% of visits come from organic search. Online revenue has held up so far through repeat customers.
Studio lease ends in 2027
Low riskThe studio lease runs to March 2027 and needs the landlord's consent to assign. The landlord has told the sellers informally that they would renew. Moving the kilns would cost about $30k and several weeks of production.
Studio lease ends in March 2027 and needs landlord consent to assign.
- Source
- Studio lease supplied by the sellers (fictional)
- Checked
- Confidence
- Verified
Fit against the client's criteria
Criteria and how the business compares
| Figure | As listed | Normalised | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Deal size: $1m to $5m | $2,100,000 | $1,050,000 | Asking price inside the band; our likely value at its lower edge |
Minimum SDE: $250k | $480,000 | $308,000 | Meets the minimum on normalised figures |
Share of recurring or repeat revenue | Not stated | 44% | Repeat customers' share of online orders |
The fictional client for this sample is a US search funder looking for ecommerce or consumer brands with $1m to $5m deal sizes, at least $250k of SDE and a business that can be run with a manager in place.
Matches: United States, ecommerce and consumer products, deal size, SDE on normalised figures, strong reviews and repeat customers.
Does not match: the business cannot be run remotely without a studio manager, and production depends on one founder today.
Questions for the seller and a next-stage checklist
Questions for the seller
- Will you accept a price based on normalised earnings, with the one-off contracts excluded?
- Can you write down every glaze recipe and firing schedule before completion, and train a named potter to run firings?
- Will you assign the domain, the trademark application and all social media accounts to the company before completion?
- Which wholesale accounts have reduced or stopped ordering in 2026, and what reasons did they give?
- Why was Coastal Kiln Goods LLC dissolved in 2023, and were any debts or contracts left with the old company?
- How long would each of you stay on after completion, and on what terms?
- Has the landlord confirmed in writing that the lease can be renewed or assigned?
Next-stage checklist
- Reconcile the profit and loss statements with the 2023 to 2025 federal tax returns.
- Match online revenue to payment processor payouts for the last 24 months.
- Review the settlement of Coastal Kiln Goods LLC's liabilities and any assignment of its contracts.
- Confirm stock count and valuation at cost, including breakage write-offs.
- Inspect both kilns and get a servicing report.
- Read every wholesale agreement for exclusivity and change of control terms.
- Take legal advice on the trademark assignment and the lease assignment.
- Agree a written handover plan covering production, suppliers and wholesale accounts.
Sources and method
Everything in this sample is fictional: the business, the people, the documents and the records. It shows the structure, the level of detail and the way findings are sourced in a real Loupe dossier.
Method
We start from the listing as published and the documents the seller provides, rebuild the financials on a trailing twelve month basis and remove anything that will not recur. We then check public records: company registries, directors and owners, domain registration, trademarks, court and insolvency indexes and sanctions lists. Traffic and search figures come from third-party estimates and are marked as estimated. Every finding records its source, the date it was checked and our confidence: verified when we saw the primary record, as listed when it comes from the seller or the listing, and estimated when it is modelled or from a third-party estimate.
Sources
Listing as published on a fictional marketplace, accessed 1 September 2026.
Seller's profit and loss statements, January 2024 to July 2026, and payroll summary, received 3 September 2026.
Oregon Secretary of State business registry, accessed 2 September 2026.
RDAP registration data for the shop's domain, accessed 2 September 2026.
USPTO trademark search, accessed 2 September 2026.
PACER and county court indexes, accessed 2 September 2026.
OFAC SDN list, UK Sanctions List and UN consolidated list as imported by Loupe on 1 September 2026, searched 2 September 2026.
Third-party web traffic estimates, accessed 2 September 2026.
Loupe valuation engine 1.0.0 with benchmark set version 1, and the Loupe listings database, 5 September 2026.
Call with the sellers, 4 September 2026.
This dossier is general information for the reader's own use. It is not investment, legal, tax or financial advice, and it may not be redistributed.